Fanfare for University of Louisville

orchestration: winds and percussion
  3333, 4331, timp, batt
year composed: 1986
about premiere
location: Louisville
date: 19 IX 1986
orchestra: Louisville Orchestre
conductor: Lawrence Smith
edition: PWM, Chester Music

This piece was written in 1986, and its premiere was given by the Louisville Orchestra under the direction of Lawrence Leighton Smith on September 19 of the same year. It is set for triple woodwinds, four French horns and trumpets, tuba, timpani, and one percussion set.

Functional in nature, it was composed in connection with the composer's participation in the Grawemeyer Award deliberations, resulting in György Ligeti receiving the honour for a book of six Études for piano. Lutosławski's energetic mini-piece, which begins and ends with a unison on the note a, is a succession of chordal roots that create the perfect cadence e - a. A performance of the Fanfare closed the special Award presentation ceremony.

The piece belongs to the genre of miniatures intended for ensembles and institutions to be premiered at special occasions, such as the one in Louisville, and the composer's visit in the Guildhall School in London (Prelude for G.S.M.D.), or his receiving the title of doctor honoris causa at Cambridge University (Fanfare for CUBE for wind quintet).

ach / trans. mk