Composition Competition for Witold Lutosławski's 100th Birthday. About 160 scores by composers from around the world were submitted, including such countries as Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Bolivia, Canada, China, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Holland, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, New Zealand, Poland, Russia, the Republic of South Africa, Serbia, Spain, Sweden and the United States. The International Jury consisted of Luca Francesconi, Kazimierz Kord, Magnus Lindberg, Steven Stucky, Paweł Szymański and Tadeusz Wielecki. The deadline for submissions was 25 January 2013, the 100th anniversary of Lutosławski’s birth. The competition was for a work for symphony orchestra (using the orchestration of Lutosławski’s last symphonies), never performed or awarded any prize, and of at least 10 minutes’ duration.


1st Prize — 10 000 € founded by The Minister of Culture and National Heritage Bogdan Zdrojewski
Thomas Simaku for the work Concerto for Orchestra
Pseudonym: H. DE JONAS

2nd Prize — 5 000 € founded by The Institute of Music and Dance and The Witold Lutosławski Society
Chris Roe for the work Lavoisier’s Mirrors
Pseudonym: CJR

3rd Prize — 3 000 € founded by The Authors Society ZAiKS
Natalya Chepelyuk for the work Aria II
Pseudonym: Meandr

Honourable Mention:
Chikako Yamanaka for the work Signal to Signalless
Pseudonym: Ccp0703

Read more about the Competition (pdf, 290 KB)